Umbrian adventures

After four great days, basked in sun and warmth (at least if seen from a Swedish perspective), in Umbria I returned to a cold and snowy Stockholm.

Today it was time to start blogging the event but… well – lets say it will have to wait a few days as I forgot my camera and notes in Stockholm as I traveled south to Linköping (ca 200 km away). So lets start with two videos made by our hosts in Umbria. The first contains a few interviews on the #winelover community in order of appearances: Luiz Alberto, Patrick Farrell, Magnus Reuterdahl, Melina Caobelli, Anna Ruini and Luiz again

The second is on our first days at Caos in Terni, it was fun, there were great wines, lots of old and new friends and foremost a taste of Umbria. Even though chaos lured around the corners of caos we got what we came for – a better understanding of Umbria, the wines and the terrior.

Many thanks to our hosts and new friends from Umbria

Magnus Reuterdahl

Categories: video, wine, wine blog | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Umbrian adventures

  1. Well said, Magnus!

  2. Arnold Waldstein

    Thanks for this post.

    Umbria–as a wine region, is honestly obscure on the shelves and wine lists of the best spots in NYC.

    When we think Gamay (and I, Ducroux) when we think Beaujolais. When we think Manchuela, we think Juan Ponce and Bobal. When we think Jura, we think (I think amongst others) Domain de la Tournelle and oh so light and lovely Poulsard.

    When we think Umbria, when you think Umbria–what grape or taste or rock star winemaker do you think of?

    You get the question I’m sure. Or maybe it’s not relevant to Umbria?

    I’m really curious when time finds a hole and you have a moment to share this. Love to hear from some of my buddies who were there as well.

    • I would say that there are three grapes that I found that speaks Umbrian (they actually had their own alphabet before latin) and that is sagrantino, trebbiano and grechetto.

      I didn´t really find and rock star wine-makers in Umbria, but I found a lot of good wines, well-made, personal and interesting. They might lack those high-notes but makes wines that are really good with food – where the reds are slightly rustic, a little broad and a little wild whilst the white tend to be more elegant but with a forceful fruit that works its way up the wine. Common to all is good minerals and acids.

      There were a bit to many bottles with faults, mainly brett, which makes it a bit hazardous to play wine-roulette but there are also many that are good.

      The Montefalco wines, at their best, are perhaps the closest thing to the star though a few are really good, a few where also to tannic, had to much oak and were unbalanced. The same goes with the whites from Orvieto.

      Besides this many wines are cuvées where international grapes are mixed with national which seems to be a good marriage. I sometimes got a feeling that this is a mirror of how Chianti once was (Pre-Parker).

      One producer I liked and I think you would like, and I’ll write about him in an upcoming post, is Fattoria Milziade Antano – a biodynamic producer with really nice wines.

      Magnus Reuterdahl

    • Arnold, I have to admit I thought of you quite a bit in Umbria and I think, based on what I know of you, that you would not have liked most of the wines. Sarah May

  3. FabLn

    This was a great discovery for me also ! A great time ! Much Brett in the Red Wines when I did the tasting for the Wine& Food pairing selection !
    After I made very few great and top discoveries for me ! Among them Leonucci Stefano with his Montignanello and Re Del Sol and Berioli with his Vercanto 100% Grechetto and Sperello Vin Santo ! That was really my Top ones from the fair with the wines from Chiorri also, Rosato ( and I dont like Rose at all), Sangiovese and their dessert wine !
    And Like Magnus I much appreciated the wines from Fattoria Milziade Antano!
    After many other white wines were flat like and some reds were really on bretts !
    Many of the wines deserve food, and many whites show much on nose but real flat on tasting !

  4. But there were no bottles of Paolo Bea ;( Umbria is in a place that many other Italian wine regions were at in the 60s and 70s-the destruction of old native vines in favor of international grapes and new world style wines worries me. I find it interested that a region with so much potential is not making superior wines. None of the wines were “bad” all that I tasted were good and more or less well made, but I do prefer wines made by traditional wine makers and with traditional grapes. If you ever get a chance to try Sagrantino wines from Paolo Bea, do it, also his wines made from Trebbiano Spoletino are seriously divine. However they don’t do junkets or shows. And in fact when we were in Montefalco I went into 2-3 wine shops and they told me I’d never find his wines in town despite they fact that he is down the road. Too radical!! Sarah May

  5. One more comment-In general Italian wines are meant to be paired with food, meaning in Italy we don’t ust “drink” wine they are like food on the table, so winemakers often have this in mind when making their wines. Sarah May

  6. I’ll keep an eye open for Paolo Bea – thanks :)

  7. I got to taste Paolo Beas wines in Stockholm the other day :) very good!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

